Pincode Search / Post Office Search

Pincode Search / Post Office Search
Search Results Will Be Shown Here.
Please Select The State In The Left Panel.

History Of Pincode

Pincode - Postal Index Number
PIN or Pincode or Postal Index Number is used to identify a particular post office in India. This system is used by India Post and other India based delivery agencies and private courier companies.
This code is six digits length.

Each PIN Code has six digits.
1. First digit indicates the zone in which the Post Office is located.
2. Second & Third digits indicate the sub-zone and sorting district.
3. Fourth digit indicates the route on which the sorting office is located.
4. Fifth & Sixth digits indicate the number assigned to the delivery Post Office.

Pincode system was introduced in 15-August-1972.This system was proposed to simplify the manual handling and delivery of mails. Primarily it avoids the conflict created by similar place names.

There are nine zones in india. Eight zones for civilian use and one for defence use. First digit indicates the region and rest indicates the sub region and districts and post office locations.

1 - Delhi, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Chandigarh
2 - Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand
3 - Rajasthan, Gujarat, Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli
4 - Goa, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh
5 - Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Telangana
6 - Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Puducherry, Lakshadweep
7 - Odisha, West Bengal, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Tripura, Meghalaya, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Assam, Sikkim
8 - Bihar, Jharkhand
9 - Army Post office (APO) and Field Post office (FPO)

First 1/2 Digits of PIN Postal Circle
11 Delhi
12 to 13 Haryana
14 to 15 Punjab
16 Chandigarh
17 Himachal Pradesh
18 to 19 Jammu and Kashmir
20 to 28 Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand
30 to 34 Rajasthan
36 to 39 Gujarat
403 Goa
40 to 44 Maharashtra
45 to 48 Madhya Pradesh
49 Chhattisgarh
50 Telangana
51 to 53 Andhra pradesh
56 to 59 Karnataka
60 to 64 Tamil Nadu
67 to 69 Kerala
682 Lakshadweep (Islands)
70 to 74 West Bengal
744 Andaman and Nicobar Islands
74 to 75 Odisha
78 Assam
79 Arunachal Pradesh
793, 794, 783123 Meghalaya
795 Manipur
796 Mizoram
799 Tripura
80 to 85 Bihar and Jharkhand

Each PIN code is mapped to exactly one delivery post office which receives all the mail to be delivered to one or more lower offices within its jurisdiction, all of which share the same code. The delivery office can either be a General Post Office (GPO), a Head Office (HO) or Sub Office (SO) which are usually located in urban areas. The post from the delivery office is sorted and routed to other delivery offices for a different PIN or to one of the relevant sub offices or branch offices for the same PIN. Branch offices (BO) are located in rural areas and have limited postal services.

Disclaimer: Every effort has been expended to ensure the accuracy of the information included on this site. No responsibility can be assumed or accepted as a result of errors or omissions.